picture of Rob Franken
Rob Franken
Rob (* 1941) started his career as the pianist of Esther & Abi Ofarim. Also, he played in a trio of the German drummer Klaus Weiß. In 1967, he founded the group "Rob Franken OrganIzation". Rob was one of the first European pianists to play the Hammond organ. Later, he detected his love for the Fender Rhodes piano. He continued his career as the keyboarder in the band of Toots Thielemans, the famous harmonica player.
Rob worked all over Europe, but most of his time in Germany, amongst others as the keyboarder of Peter Herbolzheimer's Rhythm Combination And Brass. In 1976, he founded an experimental group called The Keyboard Circle, together with the pianist Jan Huydt and the percussionist Henk Zomer.
Rob passed away in December 1983, at the young age 42.


Got The Feelin'
Relax Records 30.577
recorded 1969 in Nederhorst den Berg/The Netherlands
Dave Pike, vibes
Rob Franken, organ
Joop Scholten, guitar
Ruud Jacobs, bass
Louis de By, drums
Ob-La-Di Ob-La-Da
RCA Camden CAS 10223
recorded in Den Haag/The Netherlands
Piet-Hein Veening, bass
Louis Deby, drums, percussion
Joop Scholten, guitar
Rob Franken, organ, piano
Silver Collection
Polydor 825 086-2
recorded April 1974 and April 1975 in Laren/The Netherlands
Toots Thielemans, harmonica, guitar
Niels Henning Ørsted Pederson, bass
Wim Overgaauw, guitar
Rob Franken, keyboards, piano, organ
Bruno Castelucci, drums
Joop Scholten, guitar
Victor Kaihatu, bass
I'm Gonna Love You
Omega International OM 444.083
released 1975
Rob Franken, keyboards
Still Can't Say Enough
Blue Note BN-LA701-G
released 1976
recorded in New York City and Hollywood, CA/USA
John Lee, keyboards, bass, percussion
Gerry Brown, drums, percussion
Gary Bartz, alto sax
David Sanborn, alto sax
Michael Brecker, tenor sax
Ernie Watts, tenor sax
Ronnie Cuber, baritone sax, bass
Barry Rodgers, trombone
Randy Brecker, trumpet, flugelhorn
Jon Faddism, trumpet
Ray Gomez, guitar
Reggie Lucas, guitar
Hubert Eaves III, clavichord, organ, piano
Rob Franken, organ, synthesizer
Harold "Ivory" Williams, organ, piano
Ian Underwood, synthesizer
James Mtume, congas, percussion, vocals
Tawatha Agee, vocals
C.P. Alexander, vocals
Cheryl Alexander, vocals
Donald Smith, vocals
Polydor 2371836
recorded July 1977 in Hamburg/Germany
Peter Herbolzheimer, trombone
Bart Van Lier, trombone
Erich Kleinschuster, trombone
Otto Bredl, trombone
Bob Lanese, trumpet
Ack Van Rooyen, trumpet, flugelhorn
Bob Lanese, trumpet, flugelhorn
Derek Watkins, trumpet, flugelhorn
Palle Mikkelborg, trumpet, flugelhorn
Rick Kiefer, trumpet, flugelhorn
James Towsey, soprano sax, baritone sax, flute, bass clarinet
Herb Geller, soprano sax, tenor sax, oboe
Ferdinand Povel, soprano sax, tenor sax, flute
Eef Albers, guitar
Rob Franken, keyboards, synthesizer
Horst Mühlbradt, piano, percussion
Bo Stief, bass
Lukas Lindholm, bass
Alex Riel, drums
Nippy Noya, percussion
Erich Kuhnisch And His Group, strings
Don Adams, vocals
I Hear Voices
Polydor 2417119
recorded July/August 1978 in Hamburg/Germany
Peter Herbolzheimer, trombone
Bart van Lier, trombone
John English, trombone
Otto Bredl, trombone
Torolf Mølgaard, trombone
Ack van Rooyen, trumpet
Allan Botschinsky, trumpet
Bob Lanese, trumpet
Derek Watkins, trumpet
Jan Oosthof, trumpet
Ferdinand Povel, soprano sax, alto sax
Heinz von Hermann, pan pipes, alto sax
Wilton Gaynair, woodwind
Eef Albers, guitar
Rob Franken, keyboards
Bo Stief, bass
Alex Riel, drums
Wolfgang Schlüter, marimba
Horst Mühlbrandt, percussion
Nippy Noya, percussion
Sanne Salomonsen, vocals

Sound Samples
MP3 n/a
Video n/a

YouTube videos
For more videos search YouTube


If you don't see the left hand menu,
please go back to the homepage.

Back to the homepage