picture of Jim Cox

Jim Cox
Jim Cox, a native of California, has been playing the piano since the age of four. A mostly self-taught musician, his passion for music has led him to accumulate an extensive record library, and his fascination with pop music history borders on the obsessive. For the past twenty-five years he has made his living in the recording studios of southern California. In addition to his work with Mark Knopfler, Jim's performing, composing and arranging credits include recordings with such artists as Aerosmith, Pink, Faith Hill, Ozzy Osbourne, Aaron Neville, Barbra Streisand, Ringo Starr, Elton John, Linda Ronstadt, Willie Nelson, Boz Scaggs, Chris Botti, Rodney Crowell, Robbie Williams, Leonard Cohen, Burt Bacharach, B. B. King, George Strait, Ray Charles, Adam Sandler, Albert Lee and Queen Latifah. He has also worked on hundreds of motion picture and television soundtrack, including "Alladin", "Mulan", "Cars" and the "Austin Powers" series.
on tour Click on the logo to see Jim's tour dates.


Forty Reasons
CMP Records CMP CD 48
released 1991

Chad Wackerman, drums
Allan Holdsworth, guitar
Jim Cox, keyboards, organ, piano
Jimmy Johnson, bass
The Grand Tour
A&M Records 31454 0086 2
released 1993

Aaron Neville, vocals
Ernie Watts, sax
Plas Johnson, sax
Charles Neville, sax
Lee Thronburg, horn
Nick Lane, horn
Lon Price, horn
Greg & Bev Smith, horn
Freebo, tuba
Paul Jackson jr, guitar
Fred Tackett, guitar
Dean Parks, guitar, mandolin
Jim Cox, organ, piano, Wurlitzer
Art Neville, organ
JayDee Mannes, pedal steel
Chuck Berghofer, bass
"Ready" Freddie Washington, bass
Ed Greene, drums
John Guerin, drums
Ajay Mallery, drums
Lenny Castro, percussion
M.B. Gordy, bells
Cyril Neville, vocals
Linda Ronstadt, vocals
Garage Sale
Legato 1007-2
released 1994

Carl Verheyen, guitar, mandolin, vocals
Dave Darotta, guitar
Mike Watts, keyboards
Brad Cole, keyboards
Jim Cox, Hammond organ
John Hobbs, keyboards, Hammond organ
Dave Marotta, bass
John Ferraro, drums
Brad Dutz, percussion
Ron Aston, percussion
Night Creatures
GRP GRD-9803
released 1995
recorded August and October 1994 in Los Angeles, CA/USA
Tom Scott, soprano sax, alto sax, tenor sax, baritone sax, bass, flute, horn, organ, piano
Pete Christlieb, tenor sax
Dick Hyde, trombone
Ron Aston, trumpet, guitar, keyboards, vibes, bass, drums, percussion
Chuck Findley, trumpet
Tom McMorran, clarinet
Robben Ford, guitar
Paul Jackson jr., guitar
Jerry Lopez, guitar
Dean Parks, guitar
Jim Cox, organ
Larry Kimpel, bass
Johnny Friday, drums
Phillip Ingram, vocals
Maysa, vocals
Phil Perry, vocals
Lynne Scott, vocals
Rose Stone, vocals
James Taylor, vocals
Terry Wood, vocals
Monalisa Young, vocals
Slang Justice
Mighty Tiger MTD6004

Carl Verheyen, guitar, vocals
Jim Cox, organ, piano
Dave Morotta, bass
Dave Morotta, bass
John Ferraro, drums
Steve Di Stanislao, drums
Mighty Tiger MTD6006
recorded December 1997
Carl Verheyen, guitar, vocals
Jim Cox, Hammond organ
Mark Levang, piano, vocals, Wurlitzer
Cliff Hugo, bass
Dave Marotta, bass
Gregg Bissonette, drums
Stevie DiStanislao, drums
John Ferraro, drums
Favored Nations FN2020-2

Chad Wackerman, drums, percussion
Walt Fowler, flugelhorn
James Muller, guitar
Jim Cox, organ, piano, synthesizer
Daryl Pratt, vibes, synthesizer, percussion
Leom Gaer, bass
Tell It 20381
recorded in Silverlake, CA and Los Angeles, CA/USA
Aaron Neville, vocals
Jim Horn, alto sax, baritone sax
Sam Levine, tenor sax
Charles Neville, tenor sax
Chris Dunn, trombone
Steve Patrick, flugelhorn, trumpet
Blue Miller, guitar
Dean Parks, guitar
Shane Theriot, guitar
Jim Cox, Hammond organ, Wurlitzer
Art Neville, Hammond organ
Michael Goods, keyboards
John Jarvis, keyboards, piano
Burt Callahan, violin
Judith Armistead, violin
Michael Rhodes, bass
"Ready" Freddie Washington, bass
Eddie Bayers, drums
Mark Beckett, percussion
The Dirty Dozen Brass Band
Mighty Tiger MTD6010

Carl Verheyen, guitar, vocals
Jim Cox, Hammond organ, Wurlitzer
Steve DiStanislao, drums, percussion, tabla, vocals
Cliff Hugo, bass, vocals
Gospel Roots
Tell It Records EGD09872

Aaron Neville, vocals
Wardell Quezergue, conductor
Sam Levine, tenor sax
Charles Neville, tenor sax
Jim Horn, sax
David Woodford, sax, trumpet
Steve Patrick, trumpet, flugelhorn
Lee Thornberg, horn
The Dirty Dozen Brass Band
James Harrah, guitar
Greg Liesz, guitar
Blue Miller, guitar
Dean Parks, guitar
Shane Theriot, guitar
Jim Cox, Hammond B-3 organ, Wurlitzer piano
Michael Goods, keyboards
John Jarvis, keyboards, piano
Greg Phillinganes, keyboards
string section
Michael Rhodes, bass
"Ready" Freddie Washington, bass
Eddie Bayers, drums
Steve Ferrone, drums
James Gadsen, drums
Brian McCloud, drums
Mark Beckett, percussion
Sandtown Children's Choir
Anamaria Brandon, vocals
Stacy Chamblin, vocals
Greta Hardey, vocals
Jennifer Kuylen, vocals
Margann Turnipseed, vocals
Michelle Zeller, vocals
The Grand Design
Cranktone Entertainment CE-CD2016

Carl Verheyen, guitar, mandolin, ukulele, vocals
Sonny Landreth, slide guitar
Jim Cox, Hammond B-3 organ, Lowry organ, piano
Phil Naish, Hammond B-3 organ
Dave Marotta, bass
Stuart Hamm, bass
Chester Thompson, drums
Nick D'Virgilio, percussion
John Mader, drums, percussion
The Mutual Admiration Society
Favored Nations FNM75432

Jim Cox, organ, keyboards
Sterling Ball, bass, guitar, mandolin, bongos
Steve Morse, guitar
Steve Lukather, guitar
Albert Lee, guitar
Jeremy Mayers, guitar
John Petrucci, guitar
Jay Craydon, guitar
Steve Vai, guitar
Dave Stone, bass
Brad Hayman, bass
John Ferraro, drums, percussion

Sound Samples
MP3 n/a
Video n/a

YouTube videos
For more videos search YouTube


If you don't see the left hand menu,
please go back to the homepage.

Back to the homepage