picture of Kenny Drew
Kenny Drew
Kenny was born in August 1928 (New York City). At the age of 5, he began studying classical piano. He attended the High School of Music and Art. Soon, was known as a hot boogie woogie player.
Later, he was alternating with Walter Bishop Jr. in a neighborhood band that included Sonny Rollins, Jackie McLean and Art Taylor. He first recorded with Howard McGhee in 1949, and over the next two years recorded with Buddy DeFranco, Coleman Hawkins, Milt Jackson, Charlie Parker, Buddy Rich, and Dinah Washington. He then led many recording sessions throughout the 1950s. In 1953, Kenny decided to settle in Los Angeles, but made his way back in 1957 to NYC, where he worked as an accompanist for Dinah Washington.
Along with several other American jazz musicians who went to Europe, in 1961 Kenny moved to Denmark. He was a well known figure on the Copenhagen jazz scene, recording many sessions with the Danish bassist Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen. Kenny passed away in August 1993.


Some Other Spring
Storyville SLP 4045
recorded May 1970 in København/Denmark (?)
Karin Krog, vocals
Dexter Gordon, tenor sax
Kenny Drew, piano, organ
Niels Henning Ørsted-Pedersen, bass
Espen Rud, drums
Raindrops, Raindrops
Crippled Dick Hot Wax! CDHW 081
compilation, recorded November 1966 - 1978
Karin Krog, percussion, vocals
Palle Mikkelborg, conductor, trumpet
John Surman, soprano sax, baritone sax, Moog synthesizer
Per Carsten, alto sax, flute
Jan Garbarek, tenor sax, percussion
Dexter Gordon, tenor sax
Bent Larsen, flute
Niels Peters, oboe
Philip Catherine, guitar
Terje Bjørklund, piano
Kenny Drew, organ, piano
Ole Kock Hansen, piano
Steve Kuhn, keyboards
Per Walther, violin
Finn Ziegler, viola
Erling Christensen, cello
Arild Andersen, bass
Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, bass
Steve Swallow, bass
Jon Christensen, drums, percussion
Stu Martin, drums
Alex Riel, drums
Espen Rud, percussion
Storyville 101 8394
tracks 1 to 7 first released as Sentiments (1972, Storyville SLPS-1008)
tracks 8 to 13 originally part of Sahib Shihab And The Danish Radio Jazz Group (1965, Oktav OKLP 111)
Sahib Shihab, soprano sax, baritone sax, flute, alto flute, conductor
Niels Husum, soprano sax, tenor sax, bass clarinet
Poul Hindberg, alto sax, clarinet
Bent Jædig, tenor sax, flute
Ib Renard, baritone sax
Bent Nielsen, baritone sax, clarinet, flute
Svend Åge Nielsen, trombone, bass trumpet
Torolf Mølgaard, trombone, euphonium
Poul Kjældgård, trombone, tuba
Allan Botschinsky, trumpet
Palle Mikkelborg, trumpet, flugelhorn
Fritz von Bülow, guitar
Bent Axen, piano
Kenny Drew, piano, organ
Louis Hjulmand, vibes
Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, bass
Alex Riel, drums
Jimmy Hopps, drums
The Danish Radio Jazz Group
Don't Just Sing | An Anthology 1963-1999
Light In The Attic LITA 129
Karin Krog, vocals
Jan Garbarek, tenor sax
Dexter Gordon, tenor sax
Eje Thelin, trombone
Ted Curson, trumpet
Adelhard Roidinger, guitar
Kenny Drew, organ, piano
Berndt Egerbladh, organ
Nils Lindberg, pipe organ
Joachim Kühn, piano, alto sax
Lars Werner, piano
John Surman, piano, synthesizer, soprano sax, baritone sax, bamboo xylophone
Steve Kuhn, keyboards
Elisabeth Sönstevold, harp
Arild Andersen, bass
Terje Bjørklund, bass
Palle Danielsson, bass
Kurt Lindgren, bass
Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, bass
Steve Swallow, bass
Janne Carlsson, drums
Jon Christensen, drums
Svein Christiansen, drums
Aldo Romano, drums
Espen Rud, drums

Sound Samples
MP3 n/a
Video n/a

YouTube videos
For more videos search YouTube


If you don't see the left hand menu,
please go back to the homepage.

Back to the homepage