picture of Dave Grusin
Dave Grusin
Dave was born in Littleton, CO in 1934. His mother was a pianist and his father was a violinist from Riga, Latvia. He studied music at the University of Colorado at Boulder and was awarded his degree in 1956. Now he works as composer, pianist and keyboardist.
He produced his first single, "Subways Are for Sleeping", in 1962 and his first film score for Divorce American Style (1967). Other scores followed, including Winning (1969), The Friends of Eddie Coyle (1973), The Midnight Man (1974), and Three Days of the Condor (1975).
In the late 1970s, he started GRP Records with his business partner, Larry Rosen, and began to create some of the first commercial digital recordings. In 1988, he won the Oscar for best original score for The Milagro Beanfield War. He also composed the musical scores for the 1984 TriStar Pictures and the 1993 Columbia Pictures Television logos. From 1998 to 1999, he was featured on the Billboard's Top 10 Jazz Artists.
From 2000 to 2011, Dave concentrated on composing classical and jazz compositions, touring and recording with collaborators, including jazz singer and lyricist Lorraine Feather and guitarist Lee Ritenour. He has a filmography of about 100 titles. His many awards include an Oscar for best original score for The Milagro Beanfield War, as well as Oscar nominations for The Champ, The Fabulous Baker Boys, The Firm, Havana, Heaven Can Wait, and On Golden Pond. Dave composed theme music for various TV programs.
He received honorary doctorates from Berklee College of Music in 1988 and University of Colorado, College of Music in 1989.


Capitol Records T-2716
released 1967
recorded February to September 1967
Howard Roberts, guitar
Bill Pitman, guitar
Dave Grusin, organ
Chuck Berghofer, bass
Larry Bunker, drums, percussion
Shelly Manne, drums
Emil Richards, drums, percussion
Capitol Records T-2824
released 1967
Howard Roberts, guitar
Dave Grusin, organ
Chuck Berghofer, bass
Al Hendrickson, guitar
Jack Marshall, guitar
John Guerin, drums
Paulo Fernando de Magalhaes, drums, percussion
Larry Bunker, drums, percussion
Claudio Miranda, percussion, vocal
Vic Feldman, piano, percussion
Equinox Express Elevator
ABC Impulse! ASD-9299
released 1975
recorded December 1970 in Los Angeles, CA and Westlake, CA/USA
Howard Roberts, guitar, vocals
Mike Deasy, guitar
Dave Grusin, Yamaha organ
Larry Knechtel, keyboards
Ed Michel, synthesizer
Pete Robinson, keyboards
Mike Wofford, piano
Bobby Bruce, violin
Max Bennett, bass
Bryan Garofalo, bass
Jerry Scheff, bass
John Guerin, drums
Bob Morin, drums
Mayuto Correa, percussion
Diana Lee, vocals
First Course
Epic PE 33947
released 1976
October through December 1975 in Hollywood, CA/USA
Lee Ritenour, guitar
Tom Scott, tenor sax, lyricon
Ernie Watts, tenor sax
Jerome Richardson, baritone sax
Frank Rosolino, trombone
Chuck Findley, trumpet
Jerry Peters, keyboards, clavinet
Larry Nash, keyboards, clavinet
Michael Omartian, keyboards, clavinet
Patrice Rushen, keyboards, clavinet
Dave Grusin, clavinet, piano, organ, synthesizer
Jerry Steinholtz, congas, percussion
Bill Dickinson, bass
Chuck Rainey, bass
Louis Johnson, bass
Ed Greene, drums
Harvey Mason, drums, percussion
Browne Sugar
Arista GRP 5003
released 1979
Tom Browne, trumpet, flugelhorn
Michael Brecker, tenor sax
Phil Bodner, horn
Eddie Daniels, horn
Walter Kane, horn
David Tofani, horn
Ron Miller, guitar
Dave Grusin, clavinet, synthesizer, organ, piano, percussion
Rob Mounsey, synthesizer, organ
Bernard Wright, piano
String section
Francisco Centeno, bass
Marcus Miller, bass
Buddy Williams, drums
Errol Crusher Bennett, congas, percussion
Sue Evans, congas, percussion
Patti Austin, vocals
Vivian Cherry, vocals
Frank Floyd, vocals
Zachary Sanders, vocals
Sanders Zachery, vocals
A Twist Of Rit
Concord Records 0888072372436

Lee Ritenour, guitar
Tom Luer, tenor sax
Ernie Watts, tenor sax
Adam Schroeder, baritone sax
Bob Sheppard, baritone sax, flute
Wendell Kelly, trombone
Rashawn Ross, trumpet, flugelhorn
Tony Pusztai, guitar
Michael Thompson, guitar
David T. Walker, guitar
Wah Wah Watson, guitar
John Beasley, clavinet, Fender Rhodes, synthesizer, Wurlitzer piano
Dave Grusin, Hammond B-3 organ, clavinet, piano, Fender Rhodes, synthesizer
Makoto Ozone, piano, Hammond B-3 organ
Patrice Rushen, Fender Rhodes
Melvin Lee Davis, bass
Tom Kennedy, bass
Ronald Bruner jr., drums
Chris Coleman, drums
Dave Weckl, drums
Paulinho Da Costa, percussion

Sound Samples
MP3 n/a
Video n/a



If you don't see the left hand menu,
please go back to the homepage.

Back to the homepage