picture of Lewis Webster
Webster Lewis
Webster was born in 1943 in Baltimore, Maryland, and studied at the New England Conservatory of Music under Gunther Schuller. He started out in jazz working with Tony Williams, George Russell, Bill Evans, Stanton Davis, and the Piano Choir. His first release was Live at Club 7, issued in 1971. He signed with Epic Records in 1976 and began releasing disco music, where he found commercial success. He had two charting singles, 1977's "On the Town/Saturday Night Steppin' Out/Do it With Style" and 1980's "Give Me Some Emotion".
Lewis worked extensively as a session musician and studio arranger, for Herbie Hancock, Barry White, and others. He also produced for such artists as Gwen McCrae and Michael Wycoff. He later branched into soundtrack work for film and television, including for the films The Hearse and The Sky Is Grey. In 1963, Lewis co-founded Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc., which is part of the National Pan-Hellenic Council. Lewis died in 2002.


The Old Bum's Rush
Polydor 2391052
released 1972
recorded in Boston, MA/USA
Tony Williams, drums, vocal
Tequila (Laura Logan), vocal, guitar, percussion
Webster Lewis, organ, clavinet
David Horowitz, piano, harp, vibes
Tillmon Williams, tenor sax
Herb Bushler, baritone sax
Living Time
Sony Music Japan International SICP2756
released 1972
recorded 1972 in New York/USA
George Russell, composer, timpani
Arnuv Hegstad, conductor
Jan Garbarek, tenor sax
Stanton Davis jr., trumpet
Bjørnar Andresen, guitar
Terje Rypdal, guitar
Bobo Stenson, piano
Webster Lewis, organ
Arild Andersen, bass
Bjornar Andersen, bass
Don Hovey, bass, vocals
Don Kendrick, bass, vocals
Jon Christensen, percussion
Sue Auclair, vocals
Gailanne Cummings, vocals
Kay Dunlap, vocals
David Dusing, vocals
Joyce Gippo, vocals
Ray Hardin, vocals
Dan Windham, vocals
Listen To The Silence
Concept Records CR002
released 1973
recorded live 26 June 1971 at Kongberg Church in Kongsberg/Norway
Bill Evans, Fender Rhodes, piano
George Russell, conductor
Jimmy Giuffre, tenor sax, clarinet, flute
Sam Rivers, tenor sax, flute, oboe
Joe Henderson, tenor sax
Dave Bargeron, trombone, tuba
Garnett Brown, trombone
Stanton Davis jr., trumpet
Ernie Royal, trumpet, flugelhorn
Snooky Young, trumpet, flugelhorn
Howard Bargeron, flugelhorn, bass clarinet, tuba
Webster Lewis, organ, piano
Ted Saunders, piano, clavinet
Herb Bushler, bass
Ron Carter, bass
Eddie Gomez, bass
Marty Morell, drums
Tony Williams, drums
Mark Belair, percussion
Touch My Love
Epic JE 35017
released 1978

Webster Lewis, keyboards, organ
CBS/Sony 30AP 1032
released 1979
recorded October 1978 in Tokyo/Japan
Herbie Hancock, clavinet, Fender Rhodes, synthesizer, vocals
Bennie Maupin, soprano sax, tenor sax
Ray Obiedo, guitar
Webster Lewis, Fender Rhodes, Hammond B-3 organ, synthesizer
Paul Jackson, bass
Alphonse Mouzon, drums
Bill Summers, percussion
Breakwater Cat
RCA AFL1-3500
released 1980

Thelma Houston, vocals
Jerry Hey, horn
David T. Walker, guitar
Tim May, guitar
Steve Beckmeier, guitar
Carlos Rios, guitar
Steve Hunter, guitar
Fred Tackett, guitar
Greg Poree, guitar
Gary Morse, steel guitar
Sonny Burke, piano
Webster Lewis, organ
Jerry Peters, keyboards
David Shields, bass
Eddie N. Watkins jr., bass
Keni Burke, bass
Scott Edwards, bass
Dennis Belfield, bass
Reggie McBride, bass
James Gadson, drums
Paulinho da Costa, percussion
Tony Williams Lifetime: Spectrum - The Anthology
Verve 537075-2
Tony Williams, drums, vocals
John McLaughlin, guitar
Larry Young, organ
Jack Bruce, bass, vocals
Ron Carter, bass
Ted Dunbar, buitar
Don Alias, percussion
Warren Smith, percussion
Tequila, guitar, vocals, percussion
Webster Lewis, organ, clavinette
David Horowitz, piano, vibes, synthesizer
Herb Bushler, bass
Tillmon Williams, tenor sax

Sound Samples
MP3 n/a
Video n/a

YouTube videos
For more videos search YouTube


If you don't see the left hand menu,
please go back to the homepage.

Back to the homepage