cover picture
Dave Stryker:
Eight Track Christmas
Label Strikezone Records 8819
recorded June 2019 in Paramus, NJ/USA
online distribution


Dave Stryker guitar
Stefon Harris vibes
Jared Gold organ
McClenty Hunter drums, percussion
Steve Nelson vibes


Track List
01: This Christmas
02: Greensleeves
03: God Rest Ye Merry Gentleman
04: Happy Xmas
05: Soulful Frosty
06: Christmas Time Is Here
07: Sleigh Ride
08: Blue Christmas
09: We Three Kings
10: O Tannenbaum


Dave Stryker's Eight Track series of recordings has been straight-ahead jazz comfort food of a high level. Here, guitarist Stryker is joined by vibraphonist Stefon Harris, organist Jared Gold, and drummer McClenty Hunter. On one track of this 10-track CD of Christmas favorites, Steve Nelson replaces Harris on the closing track "O Tannenbaum.".
Like the previous albums, the performances are delightful renditions of familiar songs that are performed with spirit, humor, and imagination. Harris' at times shimmering vibes complements Strykers, fleet lean lines and solo note runs with Gold providing a greasy organ foundation and Hunter pushing the song along crisply. The performances are both melodic and inventive, and the interplay is marvelous.
© by Rob Weinstock


Sound Samples
MP3 n/a


If you don't see the left hand menu,
please go back to the homepage.

Back to the homepage