picture of Jukka Gustavson
Jukka Gustavson
Jukka (born 1951) is one of the key figures in the Finnish prog history. After participations as a vocalist and an organist in several bands in Porvoo or Helsinki area he joined WIGWAM in the summer of 1969. His contribution to four classic WIGWAM albums (Hard N' Horny 1969, Tombstone Valentine 1970, Fairyport 1971 and Being 1974) is essential. Jukka's style was fruitfully different from the other leading member, British-born Jim Pembroke, who leaned towards tighter, pop-oriented song structures. Gustavson wrote more esoteric and jazzier music, and he was often compared to his main influence Steve Winwood of TRAFFIC, especially as a vocalist. The ultimate WIGWAM classic, Being, is for the most part Jukka's work. Both Gustavson and bassist Pekka Pohjola left WIGWAM in favour of notable solo careers, whereas WIGWAM changed the style considerably towards pop under the guidance of Jim Pwmbroke and the new guitarist Pekka Rechardt (Nuclear Nightclub 1975 was a big commercial success).
Jukka Gustavson started his solo output with the album ....jaloa ylpeyttä yletän.... ylevää nöyryyttä nousen (1978); the title could be translated Noble pride I reach... sublime humility I rise. The music was composed for the ballet work Yksin yhdessä (Alone Together) and it reflects Jukka's interpretations of the Bible. Next year he became a Jehovah's Witness. Instrumental album Valon vuoksi (1979) was composed for a dance piece coreographed by his wife Leena. Third album Toden toistoa (1981) features also vocals, but the music is bright and airy fusion.
The next album came over a decade later: Bluesion (1992) puts emphasis on piano and features some experimental pieces with sound effects and speech parts. In my opinion that album suffers from too sparse instrumentation and a lack of direction, but the fifth album Kadonnut häviämättömiin (1995; Lost in the imperishable) is among his very best. It also could be described as progressive rock instead of a stronger jazz orientation which he has favoured in this millennium.
Gustavson plays several keyboards including electric piano, Hammond and Moog, and he is considered one of the finest keyboardists in the Finnish jazz scene.
Matti Pajuniemi
on tour Click on the logo to see Jukka's tour dates.


Love Records LRLP 44/45
recorded 1971 in Helsinki/Finland
Jukka Gustavson, vocals, piano, organ
Ronnie Österberg, drums, congas, percussion
Jim Pembroke, vocals, harmonica, piano
Pekka Pohjola, bass, violins, guitar, keyboards
Unto Haapa-aho, bass clarinet
Eero Koivistoinen, soprano sax
Tapio Louhensalo, bassoon
Risto Pensola, clarinet
Pekka Pöyry, soprano sax
Hannu Sexelin, clarinet
Jukka Tolonen, guitar
Ilmari Varila, oboe
Fresh Garbage
Love Records LXCD 626
recorded 1969-1977 in Finland
Jukka Gustavson, vocals, piano, organ
Mats Huldén, bass
Nikke Nikamo, guitar
Jim Pembroke, vocals, keyboards
Ronnie Österberg, drums, congas, percussion
Pekka Pohjola, bass, fiddle
Rekku Rechardt, guitar
Måsse Groundstroem, bass
Hessu Hietanen, keyboards
Esa Kotilainen, keyboards
Heikki Silvennoinen, guitar
Between Fire And Ice
RockAdillo ZENCD 2082
recorded August through December 2002 in Finland
Jukka Gustavson, keyboards, vocals
Juha Verona, bass
Pentti Lahti, woodwinds
Rami Eskelinen, drums
Between Fire And Ice
RockAdillo ZENCD 2144
recorded August 2011 through February 2012 in Helsinki/Finland
Jukka Gustavson, Hammond organ, Nordstage 88, vocals
Juha Verona, bass
Pekka Nylund, guitar
Pentti Lahti, woodwinds
Rami Eskelinen, drums
Esa Onttonen, conductor of string band

Sound Samples
MP3 n/a
Video n/a

YouTube videos
For more videos search YouTube


If you don't see the left hand menu,
please go back to the homepage.

Back to the homepage